Great gifts for music fans

Your sweetie loves vintage rock? Your brother goes to hear every band at the local pub? What to get them for holidays? Why, funny you ask. Here’s a list of cool stuff. 

Music

It’s the obvious choice, right? I love CD Baby because they carry all kinds of great indie music. Ladyslipper is damn awesome if you’re looking for music by women. Do they like charming folk singer-songwriters? My new CD is available here. (You knew I was going to mention that, right?)

How about a new MP3 player or phone with some tunes already loaded on it? Or a gift card from a download site?

LP clockRecord clock

Recycle LPs and get a great gift here. (Hey! An idea for me. I’ve still got a box of LPs, my first release, in the basement. Yes, I’m that old.)

 Concert tickets

A favorite artist is coming to town? Concert tickets are a good choice. Add a dinner out and make it date night. Not sure what concert? Many venues have gift certificates.

 LP-Toaster_49973-lLP toaster t-shirt

“For a crunchy sound.” I’m still giggling about that. I found this great shirt at Neato Shop

 

drop the needle tshirt

“Drop the needle” t-shirt

Lots of great shirts out there. This one is from Etsy.

 Speakers and earphones

Don’t make your music-lover suffer with laptop speakers that make everything sound like a transistor radio. (Remember those? I’m dating myself.) Get them some nice speakers. They make cool portable ones for MP3 players, too. And while I’m at it, nice headphones would be a great gift. Do they travel? Get them some that cancel outside noises.

rosanne cash book

Books by musicians

I especially enjoyed Rosanne Cash’s memoir. It reads like fine prose. Just gorgeous. And you can get used copies from one of my favorite stores, Abe Books.

There’s more on musician’s biographies in this post.

Custom song

Would could be better than a song written just for them? Dave Nachmanoff is a very talented musician who plays a gazillion instruments and he’s one of the best songwriters I know. Currently, he’s touring with Al Stewart (“Year of the Cat”). He can compose and record a special song for your music-lover. Find out more here.

I could write a song for them, too, if you contribute to my Indiegogo campaign. I’ve written a couple hundred songs and have ten albums under my belt, er, guitar strap.

 

At least one of these things should make the music fan in your life a very happy person. Why are you still here? Get shopping!

************************************

Thanks to my Facebook friends for their assistance.

About jamiebobamie

Musician - teacher - writer - gets bored easily. I write an almost-weekly blog that includes true stories gathered from 20-plus years of touring, how-to articles for musicians and profiles of performers. Also, I love dark chocolate, I can play "Brown Eyed Girl" behind my head, and I twirl the baton badly.
This entry was posted in music and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Great gifts for music fans

  1. Pingback: Music fan gift guide | Jamiebobamie

Leave a Reply

