A cat in the sink and a rat in the bedroom – favorite pets on tour

When I’m getting ready to leave on tour, this is what I often find:

Vito

It’s a suitcase! It’s a cat bed!

When I stay with folks on the road, some are apologetic about their pets. Not to worry, I love sharing space with the four-leggeds, provided it’s not a drooly basset hound who jumps into bed with me at 3 AM. Here are some of the lovely pets I’ve recently met along my way. If you’re the kind who oohs and ahhs over those goofy cat videos on Facebook, keep reading. If you find pets a nuisance, stop reading and unfriend me. (Kidding. Some of my best friends are … oh never mind.)

When I was recording my latest album, Dare, I did some house sitting for a musician in Asheville, NC. The place came with the most adorable feline. Here she is, pretending she’s in a James Bond movie and an evil bug is about to take over the world.

Later that trip, I house sat in Durham, NC, and got to share space with this dear old lab. She followed me around the house and listened to every word I said. For a touring musician, it’s important that someone is listening during those long days between gigs.


At another house I had a lot of feline help with my book, Drive All Night. (It’s a memoir that’ll be out in 2014 on Bella Books. There’s a chapter about sharing a house with 15 cats, 2 dogs and a rat. Really.) Here I am with my assistant editor, Wylie. She sat on the arm of the chair almost the entire time I was writing. Just in case I needed to pet her.

Writing with my editor Wylie

This next cat deserves her own YouTube channel. Seriously. I took more photos and videos of her and her sister than I have of my own cats. Izzy was a person in a cat suit. A very entertaining person in a cat suit. Here she is, doing one of her favorite activities.

One of her people swears that she was a Roman emperor in another life. All she needs is a reclining couch and a host of servants to do her bidding.

Here’s Iz with her sister, Luna.

Luna and Izzy 2013 3Izzy was sleeping. In her spare time, she performs with Cirque du Soleil.

And what animal post would be complete without a video of one of mine? This is Zoe, explaining to me why she must cover the entire heating vent.

 

About jamiebobamie

Musician - teacher - writer - gets bored easily. I write an almost-weekly blog that includes true stories gathered from 20-plus years of touring, how-to articles for musicians and profiles of performers. Also, I love dark chocolate, I can play "Brown Eyed Girl" behind my head, and I twirl the baton badly.
This entry was posted in Stories from the road and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A cat in the sink and a rat in the bedroom – favorite pets on tour

  1. Kelley Williams says:

    Loved this! I go visit my sister who has 6 cats and a beagle. Never ending amusement!

Leave a Reply

