How a writer-musician-teacher-parking lot attendant spends her time

in front of tv

I haven’t written a blog post in a few months. Lest you think I’ve been slumped in front of the TV with a box of bonbons by my side, here’s an update, numbered for convenience. I’m all about convenience, unless it’s a microwave burrito from Seven-Eleven. (Does anyone actually eat those?)

  1. I’ve been writing for other blogs. Yes, I’ve been cheating on you. JamPlay is one of the biggest online guitar teaching sites and they asked me to pen a few posts:

Is this the fastest way to learn new strumming patterns?

Go gently into the world of barre chords.

I’ll be writing more for them in the future.

cat and computer

My assistant editor, Fluffy.

  1. I’m working on my second book.  The book is about women’s music of the seventies and eighties. I have a contract with an academic press. I’m hoping the book will be out by the end of 2016. More about it here.

singout

  1. I’ve been writing CD reviews for Minor7th and SingOut! (Artists and labels, I don’t review anything sent directly to me. Please consult each website for submission guidelines.)
  1. I’m also writing musician bios. If you’re a performer and your bio is stinkin’ up the place, contact me here. My rates are reasonable, turnaround is quick, and you’ll get a creative bio that won’t require readers to reach for the Red Bull. More here.
Taylor Swift tour bus

My tour bus is a little smaller … a lot smaller … okay, it’s a Toyota Matrix. 

  1. I’m preparing for my next tour. I’m a singer-songwriter who plays in the states mostly although I get crazy once in a while and perform at home in Ottawa, Canada. My tour schedule is herejamie anderson low res

6. I teach guitar, ukulele, mandolin, and songwriting in my home studio in Ottawa as well as via Skype from anywhere in the world. Want to know more? Contact me here. I also teach in North Carolina in June – private lessons as well as classes at the Durham Arts Council and High Strung Guitars and Violins. And, because I’m an over achiever, I also teach in Ottawa at the Bluesfest School of Music and for the City of Ottawa.

I’m not really a parking lot attendant. Besides, I’m legally blind in one eye so you don’t want to hand me the keys to your Volvo.

Gotta run … I’m on deadline.

About jamiebobamie

Musician - teacher - writer - gets bored easily. I write an almost-weekly blog that includes true stories gathered from 20-plus years of touring, how-to articles for musicians and profiles of performers. Also, I love dark chocolate, I can play "Brown Eyed Girl" behind my head, and I twirl the baton badly.
This entry was posted in music, Music business, Music instruction, Playing the guitar, Playing the ukulele, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How a writer-musician-teacher-parking lot attendant spends her time

  1. Joy Anderson says:

    You forgot you can hula hoop really well AND at the same time play and sing 🙂

Leave a Reply

