Easy to play stringed instruments

guitar mandolin ukuele

L-R: mandolin, electric guitar, electric bass, banjo, ukulele.

In this case, size doesn’t matter although ukuleles are little and pretty easy to play, even if you’ve never played an instrument before. In the video below, I play a bunch of different instruments and give you advice, most importantly to step away from the mandolin (unless you already play a stringed instrument or you’re so smitten with Chris Thile you want to propose marriage.). Although, I can teach you that instrument as well as guitar, ukulele, and songwriting. Contact me here. On to the video where I impart wise advice:

 

Informed discussion regarding the various instruments is warmly welcomed below, especially if you already play the instrument and you bribe me with chocolate. If you want to hurl insults my way, move out of your parent’s basement and quit bugging me.

Here are some of the instruments I mention in the video but don’t show you: in upper left corner, hammered dulcimer; right is a folk harp; bottom left, autoharp.

What to know more about playing the guitar, ukulele or mandolin? Check out these related blog posts:

Free ukulele lesson.

More about the ukulele.

Four essential guitar chords every beginning guitarist should know.

Beginning mandolin.

Want Skype lessons? Contact me here.

 

About jamiebobamie

Musician - teacher - writer - gets bored easily. I write an almost-weekly blog that includes true stories gathered from 20-plus years of touring, how-to articles for musicians and profiles of performers. Also, I love dark chocolate, I can play "Brown Eyed Girl" behind my head, and I twirl the baton badly.
This entry was posted in music, Music instruction, Playing the guitar, Playing the ukulele and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Easy to play stringed instruments

  1. Scotasister says:

    No mountain dulcimer?

Leave a Reply

