I’m not Margaret Atwood or Beyonce

 

And I couldn’t even play them on TV. For now, I’m happy as a singer-songwriter who occasionally tours and a writer with one book under her belt and one more on the way. Here’s an update for the latter job. If you want to know where I am in the music world, there’s a tour schedule at www.jamieanderson.com. Read on for an update of my writing world. 

womens musicThe women’s music book

I started this book about women’s music of the seventies and eighties in 2011. After conducting over a hundred interviews and scouring countless resources, I started writing. Book proposals went to three academic publishers in 2016. I snagged an advance contract from a publisher right away. That means they liked the proposal (including two sample chapters) and wanted to read the entire manuscript. They didn’t pay for photos or cover the cost of fact checking so I did some crowd funding. People were generous in supporting the project. I raised enough to cover a fact checker and a small amount for photos. I gathered together the photos, finished the first draft, and corrected mistakes found by the fact checker.

I sent the first draft with a list of photos. Unfortunately, the publisher wanted something different and suggested an extensive rewrite. They had no issues with the quality of the writing, they just wanted something different. After reviewing my options, I elected to get out of the contract. It was not an easy choice.

Now I’m looking for another publisher. I’ve received enough rejection letters to paper a small chest of drawers. One publisher hasn’t responded. Another is interested and asked me some questions that I answered. I don’t yet have a contract from them. I’m crossing every appendage.

I’d love to have this book out in the next year or two. This process has taken enough time. I feel like a pregnant woman who just wants to see her feet again.

DriveAllNightS250

Drive All Night

My memoir was published in 2014 by Bella Press. It documents my sometimes crazy touring life, from fighting through snowstorms to the next gig to taking my shirt off for Amy Ray. More about it here. Here’s a video of me reading “Finding Emily,” one of the chapters. Buy it here.

 

 

 

Other work

I still write bios and press releases for musicians. More about that here.

The feminist journal Sinister Wisdom published “My Summer Vacation,” about my first visit to the Michigan Womyn’s Music Festival, back in the seventies. More here.

A collection of lesbian bar stories, Happy Hour, had the good taste to include my piece about the bar where I came out in 1976. It’ll be published in September 2017 and benefits  LGBT programs.

I still write the occasional blog post because I can’t help myself.  Everything’s archived, from how-to articles for musicians to updates on women’s music artists. Look at the bar on the right and you’ll find links.

blue-nightBlue Night Soundscapes has been very generous in giving me work. They license acoustic music for TV, movies and commercials. My job is to write descriptions of the songs. It’s damn fun. The genres are varied — Hawaiian music, traditional banjo instrumentals, Scottish music, quirky acapella, straight-ahead jazz, and meditation music. My staff bio is here.

Songwriting is still very much a part of my life and at some point, I’d like to put out another album. I’ve released ten. Why stop now?

As always, I continue to teach guitar, ukulele, mandolin, and songwriting via Skype as well as in my home studio in Ottawa, Canada. Interested? Give me a shout here.

Enough blah blah from me. Time to contact my staff, er, my wife, and see about dinner.

About jamiebobamie

Musician - teacher - writer - gets bored easily. I write an almost-weekly blog that includes true stories gathered from 20-plus years of touring, how-to articles for musicians and profiles of performers. Also, I love dark chocolate, I can play "Brown Eyed Girl" behind my head, and I twirl the baton badly.
This entry was posted in Women's Music, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

